Martin Luther King Day

As all of you may know, today was Martin Luther King Day. I although I still had school, we did not have to attend any classes because of the holiday. Instead of going to classes we celebrated today by going to see the new movie about Dr. King, Selma. The movie was phenomenal! There were many times when I almost cried because of how the scenes reminded me of current events going on in the U.S. right now (ie: Ferguson). After the movie, we gathered onto the buses and made our way back to the school. When we arrived at school we had lunch and then we split into discussion groups. The two groups that I was in talked about privilege, poverty, white privilege, and racial stereotypes. I was especially excited for this portion of the day because I love partaking in open dialogue about serious topics. I think that it is very interesting to hear everyone else’s thoughts and opinions on the subject and how it directly or indirectly affects them. We finished off the day by watching Dr. King’s I have a dream speech. The day was eye opening, inspirational, and overall amazing. I’m so lucky to have been given the opportunity to participate during this day. I had a great time and I’m hoping to have a great day again tomorrow. Until then!

– Layah

2015/01/img_4266.jpg

2015/01/img_4265.jpg

Leave a Reply

